First Day of Fall…ALREADY?

Fall Autumn Falls Stock Photos 3507155

Hello all!

It has been…a while. My fault. I would say that I’ve been terribly busy, but that just wouldn’t be true. Unless Netflix marathons count. (Honestly, if they had super-golden-platinum memberships for Netflix, I’d be the first to get one. And don’t get me started on Hulu! My addictive substances, those two.)

Anyway, a lovely shout out to my San Antonions. It’s been rainy the past couple of weeks (or so I hear. I’ve been suffering from a cold/flu/sinus infection/NEAR DEATH EXPERIENCE for three weeks now.) which makes it no surprise that tomorrow is the official first day of Fall.

Wait–WHAT? First day of Fall? Where did the summer go?

tau0.wordpress.com It seems like only last week I was graduating from college and looking forward to a summer spent with my family: hours spent at the pool, free movies (my brother works at the theater), walks with the dog, and barbecues. Maybe even a trip to the beach, if I could fit it in.

Somehow, the summer got away from me. I suppose it has something to do with getting caught up in routine–get up, go to work, come home, go to bed. But even my days off consisted of more Netflix than nightly bonfires. I did check a few things off my summer to-do list: Went on a trip (visited my sister in Utah and saw Keith Urban in concert), climbed on a mountain, and read as many books as I could get my hands on! But I still had that idea in my head of the ideal summer–and it didn’t really go according to plan. (Let’s not forget that the last three weeks of summer have been spent mostly in bed, ill.)

www.timeanddate.com

So we circle back around to the fact that tomorrow is the first day of Fall. What does that symbolize? To me, it’s like a rebirth. It’s a new school year (for everyone but me, that is!), a new season, and a time to look forward to the best holidays and the best weather. This year will be the first time I’m celebrating Fall holidays with family since 2009 and I’m ecstatic! Halloween…Thanksgiving…Christmas! (Granted, I usually came home for Christmas) I’m going to allow myself to dream, as I did four months ago, of the perfect Fall season. Crisp, cool weather…long sleeves…color-changing leaves…holiday food! Doesn’t it all just sound so lovely?

So, yeah, I kind of sucked at summer. (I went to the pool once. ONCE.) But that’s okay. I’ve learnt my lesson. You get out of things what you put into them. So I’m going to make this Fall a great one. I’m going to buy pumpkins. I’m gonna learn how to cook a turkey! I’m going to decorate the house for Christmas. I’m going to bake! And while I wish this September I was on the train to Hogwarts, I’m content with just spending as much time as I can with family and friends.

So the question of the day is: what are you going to do to make this Fall a great one?

Leave a Reply

