So… I Gave Up Facebook

On Monday, July 25th I gave up Facebook.

Not permanently, you see. Just for the month. I noticed recently that I’ve become too dependent on social media. I’ve devoted hours of time I could’ve been using to cultivate talents, try new things, and build lasting relationships, but instead I dragged my finger endlessly across the screen while I waited to find something golden—a little nugget of entertainment that would make my day.

I came to the realization this month that Facebook isn’t like it used to be. When I first joined Facebook, nearly 7 years ago, it was a platform to share what was going on in your day. I almost can’t remember the last time I read a post about someone’s actual life. Facebook has been taken over by memes, viral videos, and political posts pushing agendas right and left.

I can’t take it anymore. I’ve had it with the constant entertainment, the shallow interest in people’s lives, and the mindless wave of ignorant and useless information spewed by media and person alike. So I’m giving it up.

Read more here.

Leave a Reply

