Pros and Cons: Living at Home

I haven’t lived at home for a year and a half. I’ve been officially on my own ever since then (because let’s be real, being in college and coming home every summer doesn’t consistute being completely on one’s own). My situation was like most in their early twenties: fresh out of college with a shiny new, untouched and untested degree. I had no job offers in my chosen field so I accepted a position at my old job–a law office in my hometown. So I moved back home.

It was months before my 22 birthday. I didn’t feel like a failure by moving home because I’m extremely close to my family and was looking forward to spending some quality time with them after nearly four years away. But after a year I was starting to notice some negative aspects to living at home. But let’s start with the good first.

Pros

Lots of Love

Your family is your biggest support. They’re the cheerleaders on the sideline of your life. When you get a promotion, they cheer. When your dog dies, they cry. Plus, if you’re like me, your family members are your best friends. It’s really great to have so many people in your corner who know everything about you and support your decisions.

Life Advice

You’ve got people right there to give you advice on: what car to buy, what credit card to open, how to open an IRA, what banking institution to use, how to pay taxes, how to open your own cell phone plan, how to cook/clean/build things/sew/etc….honestly, the list of everything our families teach us is endless.

Cons

Perpetual Baby Syndrome

I just made that name up, but you all know what I’m talking about. You’re in your twenties, you’ve got a job, car, insurance, etc. but because you live at home you’re still treated like a child. Parents can’t help it. They’re gonna do it when you’re 50 too, so buckle up. You will always be their baby, so they will always want to give you advice, steer you down certain roads that lead to certain decisions, and they’re always going to want to know about your love life (or lack thereof). Enjoy it. While this is definiately a con, it’s coming from a good place.

Laziness

Yep, I’ll come right out and say it. If you live at home too long, you’ll start to get lazy. You’ve got other people cooking meals for you, buying groceries, paying for gas, letting you live in their home for free…the list goes on. You’ll start to take advantage of you family in a time in your life when you really should be out on your own, providing for yourself. I found this happening to me after just a few months. It’s easy being home. It’s easy being in the same job and never growing, never challenging yourself.

I wouldn’t trade that year after graduation for anything. It includes some of the happiest times in my life. Nights sitting in bed with my two younger siblings, laughing together over memes. Tagging along on dates with my parents to movie theaters and dinner and just getting closer to them as I see them more as friends than parents. Going through the darkest time in my depression to date that one Christmas. The good and the bad, I’ll take it all if I can spend one more minute with the people I love most in this world.

But I probably won’t live at home ever again šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

